The Spotlight on Excellence Awards program recognizes a body of outstanding work produced by electric cooperative communication and marketing professionals from across the country. The 16 categories reflect the wide scope and valuable contributions of co-op communicators today. Entrants are judged against their peers, and have the option to receive judges' comments.

The 2020 Spotlight winners are listed below.

Application Process and Timeline

The 2021 award cycle has closed and entries are currently being evaluated.

Submission Resources

Please review the following resources for information and best practices when submitting your entry:

Please note subsequent Calls for Entries are subject to change.

Library of Leading Practices

Winning spotlight entries represent co-op communication at its best. Learn from previous winners by exploring our Library of Leading practices and find inspiration for your next Spotlight entry!

2020 Spotlight Winners

NRECA showcases winning Spotlight entries to provide co-op communicators with an inspiring collection of leading practices and winning strategies to adopt in their own co-op. The 2020 listing of the winners is below.

Edgar F. Chesnutt Award for Best Total Communication Program

A highlight of the annual awards cycle is the presentation of the Edgar F. Chesnutt Award for Best Total Communication Program. The award is presented to the co-op whose entry receives the highest score from three judges from nationally accredited universities and communication and marketing professionals in the private sector.

Congratulations to our 2020 Chesnutt Award Winner: Grand Valley Power!

Video: 2020 Edgar F. Chesnutt Award Winner

2020 Winner: Grand Valley Power Wins Chesnutt Award for Meter Changeout Campaign

Ready for more inspiration as you consider your Spotlight award application? Take a look through these links for information on recent Spotlight and Chesnutt winners, and the photo galleries from recent years.


For questions regarding entries, eligibility, individual categories, etc., contact Carol Crabtree, the Spotlight on Excellence administrator, at

For questions regarding registration or payments, contact the Accounts Receivable Department at 703-907-6875 or by email at

The Spotlight on Excellence Awards are sponsored by the Certified Cooperative Communicator Program and the Council of Rural Electric Communicators.

See the Awards & Recognition page to learn about other communications awards programs.