The LaBerge Award for Excellence in Strategic Communication (LaBerge Award) recognizes an electric cooperative communicator with demonstrated excellence, influence and impact in co-op communications, both as a practitioner and contributor across Co-op Nation. The award was established in 2018 in memory of Justin Erick LaBerge, who served as the Senior Leadership Communications Manager for the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. Read the LaBerge guidelines (PDF) for more detailed information.

The LaBerge Award winner will be recognized at NRECA's CONNECT Conference in May.

Application Process and Timeline

The Call for Entries for the inaugural LaBerge Award is now open. The deadline for submissions is March 22, 2019.

To enter, simply submit your payment. Once payment has been received, you will receive a link to the online entry form.

Before beginning to assemble your nomination, you can review the "Always On" documents that are referenced in the award criteria and use this hard copy of the application form to prepare your entry. Note, the online form does not allow you to save the form and come back to it later. Please make note of the size limits to written responses and supporting materials.

Subsequent calls for entry will open on the second Monday of August and close on the last Monday of October. Specific information for the next cycle will be posted on this page and shared through email and social media notifications.


Contact Anne Prince,, 703-907-5544

The LaBerge Award for Excellence in Strategic Communication is sponsored by the Certified Cooperative Communicator Program and the Council of Rural Electric Communicators in conjunction with the Spotlight on Excellence Awards Program.

See the Awards & Recognition page to learn about other communications awards programs.