Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri

Hobby: Every weekend I volunteer with the Humane Society of Missouri to exercise, socialize and help dogs of all breeds learn "adopt me" manners. Depending on how full the shelter is, or if some need special attention, I work with 5-12 dogs per weekend to help prepare them for their forever home.

How long have you been volunteering with the Humane Society? I began volunteering in 2016. Our family had a difficult year, so it seemed like a good time to do something positive. Volunteering to help socialize dogs and find them homes was the best decision I could have made. It fills me with joy.

Have you ever ended up adopting a dog you worked with? Not yet, but there have been many I’ve wanted to take home.

Do you have any pets of your own? This is the first time in nearly 40 years that I haven’t had a pet. Our last two dogs, both rescues, passed away within months of each other in 2016 and it was just too difficult to think about adopting another. I think this will be the year for a new fur family member though. The volunteers I work with are making sure I meet as many dogs as possible.

Favorite dog breed: Rescued, of course.

Did you grow up with pets? Yes. Always had a dog in the house along with turtles, fish and even a hamster at one time.

Why did you want to work at the co-op? Cuivre’s involvement with the communities it serves was very appealing. After almost a year now, I’m still amazed and proud to be associated with an organization in which giving back is such a strong part of its mission.

What do you like most about your job and the co-op? The employee longevity here speaks volumes as well as how helpful, knowledgeable and friendly everyone is. I look forward to coming in each day, and that’s something I haven’t said about a job in a long time.

Education: Bachelor of Science in communications from Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville.

One random fact about you or something most people may not know about you: You’ll always be able to find me in a crowd—I stand 6’ 2”.


Do you have a colleague we should get to know better? There are only three requirements to share their story:

  • They have been at your co-op one year or less

  • They have never worked at an electric co-op before

  • They have an interesting hobby (i.e., fly fishing, bee keeping, small business owner, fitness/outdoor enthusiast, singing or playing in a band – the sky's the limit!)

If you or one of your colleagues meet these requirements, we'd love to hear from you. Please send nominations to megan.mcatee@nreca.coop.

Interested in joining the co-op family? Visit NRECA's Cooperative Career Center to search co-op careers.

ADVERTISEMENTS