Each spring, CCCs elect fellow communicators to represent them on the CCC Board of Directors. Stepping into a leadership role isn’t always easy, and I don’t think I’ve ever heard a co-op communicator tell me they are bored and need something else to fill their time. I am grateful for those who take on the challenge of leading this program that promotes excellence in our profession.

I am proud to welcome Jodi Borger with Pioneer Electric in Ohio, Heather Holbrook with Brunswick Electric Membership Corporation in North Carolina, and Lauren Irby with Southside Electric in Virginia to our board. I know these three ladies will be fantastic advocates for our program.

Ryan Cornelius, Jayne Graham and Anna Politano completed their service to the board in May. Ryan recently accepted a new job and remains part of the co-op family, while Jayne is counting down the days (and hours and minutes) to her retirement. We will miss their input and expertise and wish them the best on their new adventures.

Anna recently completed the maximum of three consecutive two-year terms on the CCC board. I would especially like to thank her for her leadership as the board president. Anna has been a wonderful mentor to me and co-op communicators everywhere. I know we all love seeing Anna’s work with Oklahoma’s Energy Trails Foundation as she tells the stories of bringing power to the people of Guatemala and Bolivia. Anna, quite literally, spreads light wherever she goes, and her presence will be missed!

I am honored to serve as this year’s chair. Lydia Walters of Dixie Electric in Mississippi is our vice chair, and JuliAnn Graham of Tri-County Electric in Oklahoma is the board secretary.

Each board member serves on one of three committees. The candidate assessment and program standards (CAPS) committee is led by Magen Howard of Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives, Abbey Sprague of Midland Power Cooperative in Iowa leads the marketing and communications committee, and Lydia Walters is heading up the programming and planning committee.

Our committees have a busy year ahead as we work to modernize and enhance the CCC study process. We are committed to keeping current and future CCCs informed about program improvements, so expect to hear from us often over the next several months. We look forward to serving you this year!

April Lollar, APR, CCC
Chair, CCC Board
Director of Communications
Coast Electric Power Association