J.C. Brown CEO Communication Leadership Award

This award memorializes the late J.C. Brown and his unwavering dedication to the importance of communication as a vital link connecting electric cooperatives with each other and with their consumer-members and to advancing the cooperative business model.





J.C. Brown Award Winners

- Duane Highley, 2019 Arkansas Electric Cooperative Assn., Little Rock, Ark.
- Patrick W. O'Loughlin, 2018 Ohio's Electric Cooperatives, Columbus, OH
- Curtis Wynn, 2017. Roanoke Electric Cooperative, Ahoskie, NC
- Kent Farmer, 2016 Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Fredericksburg, Va.
- Doug Johnson, 2015 Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corp., Lenoir, NC
- Dan Blesi 2014 Crawford Electric Cooperative, Bourbon, Mo.
- Michael D. Tirpak, 2013 Northwestern Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Inc., Cambridge Springs, Penn. Michael Sims, 2012
- Butler Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc., Oxford, Oh.

- E.A. "Bucky" Jakins Jr. 2011 Baldwin County EMC, Summerdale, Ala.
- **Bob Ray**, 2010 Flint EMC, Warner Robins, Ga.
- Chris Hamon 2009 White River Valley Electric Cooperative, Branson, Mo.
- Ray Beavers, 2008 United Cooperative Services, Cleburne, Tex.
- Jim Duncan, 2007 Sumter Electric Cooperative, Inc., Sumterville, Fla.
- Martin Hillert Jr., 2006 Adams-Columbia Electric Cooperative, Friendship, Wisc.
- Kyle Kuntz, 2005 Sam Houston Electric Cooperative, Inc., Livingston, Tex.
- Brian Newton, 2004 Consolidated Electric Cooperative, Mount Gilead, Oh.



RECENT J.C. BROWN WINNERS



DUANE HIGHLEY 1 2019 Arkansas Electric Cooperative Assn. Little Rock, AR



PATRICK O'LOUGHLIN | 2018 Ohio's Electric Cooperatives Columbus, OH



RECENT J.C. BROWN WINNERS



CURTIS WYNN 1 2017 Roanoke Electric Ahoskie, NC



KENT FARMER | 2016 Rappahannock Electric Fredericksburg, VA



DOUG JOHNSON | 2015 Blue Ridge Electric Membership Co-op Lenoir, NC



2019 WINNER: DUANE HIGHLEY

- Created and utilizes multiple internal communication channels to share strategic vision, share information
- Promotes transparency by sharing board actions and decisions after board meetings
- Uses Touchstone Energy's Balanced
 Performance Scorecard to align business activities to the vision, strategy of AECC to improve communication, measure performance





Highlights: DUANE HIGHLEY

Promotes cooperative edge in creative and engaging ways

- Authored dozens of articles and several books on cooperative difference, business model
- Speaks nationally on energy issues





Highlights: DUANE HIGHLEY

- Leads community engagement activities and partnerships
- Received Humanitarian Award for AECC's community service work
- Arkansas Business recognized AECC as "Best Places to Work" in 2016 and 2018





2018 WINNER: PATRICK W. O'LOUGHLIN

- Reinvented Communications Dept.
- Broadened OEC communications scope
- Developed three-year strategic communications plan, integrating OEC's strategic planning and management processes







Highlights: PATRICK W. O'LOUGHLIN

- Led rebranding and redesign of Ohio
 Cooperative Living to more effectively tell
 the co-op story
- Increased social media and earned media presence
- O'Loughlin's team helped co-ops in their system create strategic communications plans





Highlights: PATRICK W. O'LOUGHLIN

HIGHLIGHTS

 Convened (first) annual communications conference for OEC members to share leading practices and discuss common issues and challenges among co-op communicators

- Supports continuous learning to more effective communicate the co-op story
- Created foundation to serve community



2017 WINNER: CURTIS WYNN

- Deeply involved with region
- Promotes "Roanoke Connect"
- Boosts local Internet availability





Highlights: CURTIS WYNN

- Considers all employees communicators
- Expanded co-op's outreach channels with apps, social media, blogs and newsletters
- Initiated "Straight Talk" forums to promote face-to-face dialogue









Highlights: CURTIS WYNN

- Developed strategy map that identified core values
- Established strategy execution team to measure goals
- Takes steps to ensure consumermembers understand they control the co-op





2016 WINNER: KENT FARMER

- Committed to doing business in unconventional manner and inspiring culture of excellence
- Collaborates and innovates to serve 22county service area; actively engages with members and community REC serves
- Uses member feedback to evaluate and launch new services, improve operations and member satisfaction





Highlights: KENT FARMER

- Recognizes importance of developing next generation of leaders; encourages value of learning for employees and Board members
- Develops strategic vision and strategy with employees from all levels and management; uses multiple platforms to communicate effectively





Highlights: KENT FARMER

- Influential in incorporating co-op business model into college level curriculum and development of new industry-focused trainings in rural areas
- Maintains strong grassroots communication through "Get Connected" events and member advisory committees





2015 WINNER: DOUG JOHNSON

- Shares strategic vision and strategy with employees and members; uses multiple platforms to communicate regularly
- Uses Balanced Scorecard to align business activities to the vision and strategy of the organization, improve communication and measure performance





Highlights: DOUG JOHNSON

- Uses ongoing member surveys to provide a feedback loop from members to staff for improvements that rank BRE among the nation's best performing utilities
- Increased member participation from 800 to 7,000 by changing the annual meeting process, using mail-in and online ballots





Highlights: DOUG JOHNSON

- Created BRE's Community Leaders Council to partner with local business, civic and government leaders on economic development and other key initiatives
- Maintains strong grassroots communication through member advisory committees



