Electric Cooperatives Serving Persistent Poverty Counties

Electric cooperatives serve in 327 of the nation's 353 "persistent poverty counties" (93%). Of the 42 million Americans served by cooperatives, an estimated 4 million live in persistent poverty counties.

The Economic Research Service of The USDA defines these counties as those where the poverty rate has exceeded 20% of the population for the last 30 years; the vast majority of these counties (85%) are non-metropolitan counties as defined by The OMB.

persistent poverty county

Poverty data from The USDA Economic Research Service.
Cooperative service territory data from NRECA Strategic Analysis Unit.